Lunar Eclipse July 2018: Peak Times To See The Blood Moon In Cities Across The World

Source: Trevor Nace 

We are a day away from the longest total lunar eclipse of the 21st century, as you prepare to see the historic blood moon here are the key times to see the July 2018 lunar eclipse in cities across the world.

To make things easy for you, below is a breakdown of each continent around the world, some key cities, and when they can expect to see the eclipse. Note, the lunar eclipse will not be visible for North America so I’ve included a few helpful options to see the eclipse through a live streaming feed.

July 2018 Lunar Eclipse In Europe

Most of Europe will be able to see the entire full eclipse apart from the UK where the moonrise won’t occur until 8:49 pm on July 27th, missing the first 19 minutes of the total eclipse. The excellent map below from Timeanddate.com shows a colored map with bands indicating the extent of the lunar eclipse visibility. They are broken down into:

  • Entire eclipse visible
  • All of total+partial visible
  • All of the total eclipse visible
  • Some of the total eclipse visible
  • Only partial+penumbral visible
  • Some of the penumbral eclipse visible
  • Not visible

As you can see, the farther South and East you live in Europe, the better view you will have of the lunar eclipse.

EUROPE
City Total Eclipse Begins Maximum Eclipse Total Eclipse Ends
Berlin, Germany 9:30 PM 10:21 PM 11:13 PM
Istanbul, Turkey 10:30 PM 11:21 PM 12:13 AM
London, England Not Visible 9:21 PM 10:13 PM
Madrid, Spain 9:30 PM 10:21 PM 11:13 PM
Moscow, Russia 10:30 PM 11:21 PM 12:13 AM
Paris, France 9:30 PM 10:21 PM 11:13 PM
Rome, Italy 9:30 PM 10:21 PM 11:13 PM
Vienna, Austria 9:30 PM 10:21 PM 11:13 PM

*Note in the above table all times are local and start on July 27th, 2018 with some extending into July 28th, 2018.

July 2018 Lunar Eclipse In Asia & Australia

Most of Asia will be able to view the full lunar eclipse apart from Japan, which will see the beginning of the total lunar eclipse but not catch the maximum or the ending. For Asia, the best place to live is farthest West and South as that will give you an ideal view of the blood moon.

ASIA & AUSTRALIA
City Total Eclipse Begins Maximum Eclipse Total Eclipse Ends
Beijing, China 3:30 AM 4:21 AM 5:13 AM
Delhi, India 1:00 AM 1:51 AM 2:43 AM
Dhaka, Bangladesh 1:30 AM 2:21 AM 3:13 AM
Manila, Philippines 3:30 AM 4:21 AM 5:13 AM
Mumbai, India 1:00 AM 1:51 AM 2:43 AM
Osaka, Japan 4:30 AM Not Visible Not Visible
Shanghai, China 3:30 AM 4:21 AM 5:13 AM
Tokyo, Japan 4:30 AM Not Visible Not Visible
Sydney, Australia 5:30 AM 6:21 AM Not Visible
Melbourne, Australia 5:30 AM 6:21 AM 7:13 AM

*Note all times above start on July, 28th, 2018 and are local times.

July 2018 Lunar Eclipse In Africa

For this lunar eclipse, Africa won the astronomical lottery as the eclipse will be visible throughout the entire continent. In the case of Africa, the farther East and South you are the better and longer view of the eclipse you will have. This means those living in South Africa will be treated to one of the best viewing locations in the world.

AFRICA & ANTARCTICA
City Total Eclipse Begins Maximum Eclipse Total Eclipse Ends
Lagos, Nigeria 8:30 PM 9:21 PM 10:13 PM
Cairo, Egypt 9:30 PM 10:21 PM 11:13 PM
Kinshasa, Congo 8:30 PM 9:21 PM 10:13 PM
Luanda, Angola 8:30 PM 9:21 PM 10:13 PM
Nairobi, Kenya 10:30 PM 11:21 PM 12:13 AM
Johannesburg, South Africa 9:30 PM 10:21 PM 11:13 PM
Alexandria, Egypt 9:30 PM 10:21 PM 11:13 PM
Casablanca, Morocco 8:30 PM 9:21 PM 10:13 PM
McMurdo Station, Antarctica 7:30 AM 8:21 AM 9:13 AM

 *Note all times are for July 27th, 2018 except Antarctica, which will see the eclipse on July 28th, 2018. All times are local.

July 2018 Lunar Eclipse In South America

Now that we’ve covered those lucky enough to live in Europe, Asia, and Africa we get to the unfortunate fact that the Americas aren’t very lucky when it comes to this lunar eclipse. As you can see from the TimeandDate.com map below, only the very eastern and southern parts of South America will see part of the eclipse.

SOUTH AMERICA
City Total Eclipse Begins Maximum Eclipse Total Eclipse Ends
São Paulo, Brazil Not Visible Not Visible 6:13 AM
Lima, Peru Not Visible Not Visible Not Visible
Bogotá, Colombia Not Visible Not Visible Not Visible
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Not Visible Not Visible 6:13 AM
Santiago, Chile Not Visible Not Visible Not Visible
Caracas, Venezuela Not Visible Not Visible Not Visible
Buenos Aires, Argentina Not Visible Not Visible Not Visible
Quito, Ecuador Not Visible Not Visible Not Visible

*Note all times are Friday, July, 27th, 2018 and local times.

July 2018 Lunar Eclipse In North And Central America

For North America and Central America I there’s no need for a table, whether you’re in New York City, Chicago, Los Angeles, Houston, or Miami, you won’t be seeing this lunar eclipse.

As you can see in the map above, North America is in the perfectly wrong location to view the blood moon. However, you won’t have to wait all that long to see the next lunar eclipse, granted it won’t be as long as this one. The next lunar eclipse, which centers around North and South America is January 20th and 21st of 2019.

How To Watch The Lunar Eclipse

Thankfully, in the 21st century even though we may not be in the right location to see the lunar eclipse, we can still live-stream the blood moon from various angles around the world. To live-stream the eclipse visit Slooh, which will be showing the lunar eclipse from various telescopes around the world. The event starts at 1pm EST on Friday, July 27th. Don’t forget to tune in!

Trevor Nace is a PhD geologist, founder of Science Trends, Forbes contributor, and explorer. Follow his journey @trevornace.

admin

Webthoughtspot is a curate collection of positive news and stories from online publications across the world. It is an attempt to spread hope and encouragement amid the negativity that we are bombarded with on a daily basis. If you have such interesting story to share with the world. Please write to us at srinu.vasu04@gmail.com To stay updated with more positive stories, please connect with us on Facebook and Twitter.

More Posts - Website